Exile in the Hometown

Vienna 1933–1938


"Am I not Viennese? Not one of the truest in every respect?"
Zemlinsky

Zemlinsky loved his hometown more than anything else. This may also have been a decisive reason why in autumn 1933 he left Berlin and returned to Vienna, unlike Schoenberg who fled to find a safer refuge in foreign territory. Although in the mid 1930s there was no immediate danger for Zemlinsky and his family, the signs of political repression especially in the arts were very evident. Despite his great renown as a conductor Zemlinsky was no longer able to obtain a permanent position in musical life in Vienna. Increasingly the city proved to be for him a "sinking lifeboat".

At first the family lived in an apartment in the Mariannengasse (9th district). In 1934 they had a house built in the Kaasgrabengasse in the elegant 19th district (Grinzing) according to plans by the Hoffmann pupil Walter Loos, whose modern style allegedly aroused the attention of some visitors. In 1933 Zemlinsky took over as director of the Vienna Concert Orchestra which had been founded in 1931 by Hermann Scherchen. Zemlinsky only conducted for one season because in 1934 Paul Breisach was appointed "permanent conductor". In 1935 the orchestra had to be disbanded because of lack of funding. Nevertheless Zemlinsky continued to have several engagements as a guest conductor abroad.

Zemlinsky was finally able to fulfil at least one wish: he could devote himself entirely to composing. As a result his late œuvre was very varied and in all genres he as it were reflected his entire forty-year long career and again found new forms of expression. He concentrated his work on the opera Der König Kandaules (1935-38), encouraged by the great success of his opera Kreidekreis which had received its world premiere on 14 October 1933. He also wrote the Sinfonietta (1934), the Fourth String Quartet (1935) and Psalm 13 for Choir and Orchestra (1936). However, from 1937 the political situation became so oppressive that it was impossible for him to continue working. After Hitler's invasion of Vienna the family planned to escape in spring 1938.



Image

 

Police de-registration, issued on 27 September 1933 in Berlin-Schöneberg, signed by Louise Zemlinsky. After the seizure of power by the Nazis and the prohibition of employment for Jews in state service decreed in 1933, Zemlinsky resigned his position at the Berlin Academy of Music. On 27 September 1933 he left the city with his wife and daughter for Vienna.

Exil in der Heimatstadt

Wien 1933–1938


"Bin ich kein Wiener? Nicht einer der echtesten in jeder Beziehung?"
Zemlinsky

Zemlinsky liebte seine Heimatstadt über alles. Dies mag auch entscheidend dafür gewesen sein, dass er im Herbst 1933 aus Berlin zurück nach Wien ging und nicht, wie etwa Schönberg, ein fremdes, aber sichereres Refugium aufsuchte. Zwar drohte für ihn und seine Familie Mitte der 30er Jahre noch keine unmittelbare Gefahr, doch waren die Anzeichen politischer Repressionen zumal in der Kultur unübersehbar. Zemlinsky konnte trotz seines großen Renommees als Dirigent im Wiener Musikleben nicht mehr dauerhaft Fuß fassen. Die Stadt sollte sich für ihn mehr und mehr als "sinkendes Rettungsboot" erweisen.

Die Familie bezog zunächst eine Wohnung in der Mariannengasse (IX. Bezirk). 1934 ließ sie sich in der Kaasgrabengasse im noblen XIX. Bezirk (Grinzing) ein Haus nach den Plänen des Hoffmann-Schülers Walter Loos bauen, dessen moderner Stil die Aufmerksamkeit mancher Besucher erregt haben soll. 1933 übernahm Zemlinsky die Leitung des 1931 von Hermann Scherchen gegründeten Wiener Konzertorchesters. Er dirigierte hier nur eine Saison, denn 1934 wurde Paul Breisach zum "ständigen Dirigenten" berufen. 1935 musste das Orchester aus Geldmangel aufgelöst werden. Als Gastdirigent hatte Zemlinsky jedoch weiterhin zahlreiche Verpflichtungen im Ausland.

Zumindest einen Wunsch konnte sich Zemlinsky jetzt endlich erfüllen: Seine ganze Zeit dem Komponieren zu widmen. So enstand ein vielgestaltiges Spätwerk, in dem er in allen Gattungen gleichsam einen Spiegel auf seine fast 40-jährige Karriere richtete und noch einmal zu neuen Ausdrucksformen fand. Im Zentrum stand die Arbeit an der Oper "Der König Kandaules" (1935–38), zu der er nicht zuletzt durch den großen Erfolg des am 14. 10. 1933 uraufgeführten "Kreidekreis" ermutigt worden war; außerdem entstanden u.a. die "Sinfonietta" (1934), das 4. Streichquartett (1935) und der "13. Psalm" für Chor und Orchester (1936). Die politische Situation wurde ab 1937 jedoch so bedrückend, dass an eine kontinuierliche Arbeit nicht mehr zu denken war. Nach Hitlers Einmarsch in Wien plante die Familie ab dem Frühjahr 1938 die Flucht.



Image


Polizeiliche Abmeldung, ausgestellt am 27. 9. 1933 in Berlin-Schöneberg, unterschrieben von Louise Zemlinsky. Nach der Machtübernahme der Nazis und dem im April 1933 erlassenen Beschäftigungsverbot für Juden im Staatsdienst kündigte Zemlinsky seine Stellung an der Berliner Musikhochschule. Mit seiner Frau und seiner Tochter verließ er am 27. 9. die Stadt in Richtung Wien.