Promoting the Heritage

Zemlinsky and Posterity / II


"My time will come after my death"
Zemlinsky to his wife Louise

Louise Zemlinsky had to experience a further shattering stroke of fate after the death of her brother and her husband. In 1945 she was informed in a telegram that her mother and aunt had most probably been murdered in a concentration camp.

Left completely to her own devices she made attempts already during the 1940s to promote Zemlinsky's works in the music world but the response was discouraging. From 1945 she again lived in New York and devoted herself entirely to singing and painting. It was not until the late 1960s, when Zemlinsky was gradually being rediscovered, that her husband's legacy increasingly became her principal task in life. Until a highly advanced age she committed herself to ensuring that the research and performance of his music, especially regarding copyright matters, had a serious basis and created a widespread impact. She was given considerable help by the Austrian Cultural Institute and its director at the time Peter Marboe. He also ensured that in 1985 at Louise's request Zemlinsky's urn was transferred to Austria and interred in an honorary grave in Vienna's Central Cemetery.

Image

 

Zemlinsky's new grave in the Central Cemetery in Vienna. At the instigation of the Alexander Zemlinsky Foundation, Josef Symon — artist in Prague and for many years professor at the Vienna Academy of Art — created a gravestone whose form is inspired by the letter "Z". The sculpture is divided into five parts and reflects the five stages of Zemlinsky's life.

However, the main focus of interest was the need to provide long-term security in the form of an institution for promoting his heritage. Louise donated a considerable sum of money to the College of Music at the University of Cincinnati. The donation was used to set up a composition and instrumental competition both bearing Zemlinsky's name and which have been organised since the 1990s at this institute where Walter Levin, a great admirer of Zemlinsky, taught for many years. Nevertheless the most important initiative taken by Louise was the setting up of the Alexander Zemlinsky Foundation at the Society of the Friends of Music in Vienna that was founded in 1989 using a large donation from her funds. The purpose of the foundation, whose chairman is Peter Dannenberg, is to "promote and disseminate the works of Alexander Zemlinsky as well as to analyse his life, his impact and his works". Members of the Foundation Committee also include Gerd Albrecht, Thomas Angyan, Christoph von Dohnányi, James Levine, Peter Marboe and Peter Ruzicka.

Louise died in 1992 in New York. All the rights to Zemlinsky's music were transferred to the foundation. Throughout his life Vienna did not make things easy for Zemlinsky. Now, fifty years after his death, his heritage has at least "found its logical home" (Peter Marboe).

 

Image

 

Louise Zemlinsky at an advanced age, undated photograph

Förderung des Erbes

Zemlinsky und die Nachwelt / II


"Meine Zeit kommt nach meinem Tod."
Zemlinsky zu seiner Frau Louise

Louise Zemlinsky hat nach dem Tod ihres Bruders und ihres Mannes einen weiteren bestürzenden Schicksalsschlag erleben müssen. 1945 wurde ihr in einem Telegramm mitgeteilt, dass ihre Mutter und ihre Tante höchstwahrscheinlich im KZ ermordet wurden.

Nun ganz auf sich allein gestellt, unternahm sie schon in den 40er Jahren Versuche, in der Musikwelt für Zemlinskys Werke zu werben, doch die Resonanz war entmutigend. Louise, die seit 1945 wieder in New York lebte, widmete sich wieder ganz dem Gesang und der Malerei. Erst mit der schrittweisen Wiederentdeckung Zemlinskys seit Ende der 60er Jahre wurde das Erbe ihres Mannes mehr und mehr zu ihrer Lebensaufgabe. Mit großer Energie setzte sie sich bis ins hohe Alter dafür ein, dass die Erforschung und Aufführung seiner Musik insbesondere auch in urheberrechtlicher Hinsicht eine seriöse Basis hatten und große Breitenwirkung entfaltete. Maßgebliche Hilfe wurde ihr dabei vom Österreichischen Kulturinstituts und dessen damaligem Leiter Peter Marboe zuteil. Dieser sorgte auch dafür, dass 1985 auf Louise Wunsch Zemlinskys Urne überführt und in einem Ehrengrab auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof beigesetzt wurde.

 

Image


Zemlinskys neues Grab auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof. Auf Veranlassung des Alexander-Zemlinsky-Fonds schuf 1994 der Prager Künstler und langjährige Professor an der Wiener Kunstakademie Josef Symon einen Grabstein, dessen Form von dem Buchstaben "Z" inspiriert ist. Die Fünfteilung der Skulptur spiegelt aber auch die fünf Lebensstationen Zemlinskys.

Im Mittelpunkt aber stand das Bedürfnis, die Förderung des Erbes langfristig und institutionell zu sichern. So spendete sie einen größeren Betrag dem College of Music bei der University of Cincinnati. Die Spende floss in die Einrichtung eines Kompositions- und eines Instrumentalistenwettbewerbs, die beide Zemlinskys Namen tragen und seit den 90er Jahren an diesem Institut ausgetragen werden, an dem mit Walter Levin lange Zeit ein großer Verehrer Zemlinskys lehrte. Die bedeutendste Initiative Louises aber war die Einrichtung des Alexander-Zemlinsky-Fonds bei der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien, der mit Hilfe einer größeren Spende aus ihren Mitteln 1989 in Wien gegründet wurde. Zweck des Fonds, dessen Vorsitzender Peter Dannenberg ist, ist die "Förderung und Verbreitung der Werke Alexander Zemlinskys sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit seinem Leben, seinem Wirken und seinen Werken." Zum Fondskomitee gehören außerdem Gerd Albrecht, Thomas Angyan, Christoph von Dohnányi, James Levine, Peter Marboe und Peter Ruzicka.

1992 starb Louise in New York. Sämtliche Rechte an der Musik Zemlinskys gingen nun an den Fonds über. Wien hat es Zemlinsky zeit seines Lebens nicht leicht gemacht. Jetzt aber, 50 Jahre nach seinem Tod, hatte sein Erbe zumindest sein "logisches Zuhause" (Peter Marboe) gefunden.



Image


Louise Zemlinsky im hohen Alter, undatierte Fotografie.