The Final Years

New York 1938–1942


"I would not even want to be buried here"
Zemlinsky, 1939

Zemlinsky was 67 years old when he arrived in New York with his wife and daughter. It is understandable that his poor health and the experiences of the previous months made it difficult for him to adapt to a new way of life. The family spent the first few weeks in a hotel in Manhattan; in February 1939 they rented an apartment in 46 West 83rd Street.

Nevertheless for a short time Zemlinsky found some strength to attend a language course. However, in mid-1939 he suffered a severe stroke. In 1940, to get away from the noise of the city, he moved with Louise into an apartment in a quieter area in New Rochelle, north-west of the city; their daughter stayed in New York. In the meantime Louise's brother Otto had joined them, with whose help their financial problems were largely solved. Otto died in the December of the same year.

In New York Zemlinsky had regular contact with some friends from Europe. Primarily with his former pupil Arthur Bodanzky, who died at the end of 1939, but also with Hans Heinsheimer from the Universal Edition publishing house; with the conductor Fritz Stiedry and with Walter Firner, a friend from his time in Berlin. Zemlinsky also exchanged a few letters with Schoenberg, who lived in Los Angeles. He wanted to persuade Zemlinsky to move to the west too, but his poor health did not allow this. They met each other personally one more time, when Schoenberg conducted his Pierrot lunaire in New York in November 1940.

Zemlinsky's artistic work was no longer very fruitful. Besides the opera project Circe that he started working on immediately after the failure of Der König Kandaules, he composed two pedagogical school pieces as well as some easy songs in order to ease his financial problems. Arthur Bodanzky arranged for them to be published but Zemlinsky only allowed this under the pseudonym "Al Roberts".

Zemlinsky never recovered from another stroke he suffered on December 1940. On 15 March 1942, four days after he had moved into a house in nearby Larchmont, Zemlinsky died.

Image

 

The house where Zemlinsky died in Larchmont, N.Y., photograph, 1985. Alexander, Louise and her brother Otto moved into the house only four days before Zemlinsky's death. Until then they had lived in a ground-floor apartment with a garden in nearby New Rochelle. Otto wrote a letter dated 4 August 1940 to his mother in Prague, who was later murdered in a concentration camp, and described the first few days outside Manhattan: "[…] we are completely surrounded by greenery and the birdsong in the morning is wonderful. We have had only a few visitors recently as many of our friends have gone away for the summer but actually we rather like it this way. Alex complains a little — you know what he's like — but most of the time he is very cheerful. Louise looks very well and I, apparently better than ever! […]. We are especially glad not to be in New York any more where the heat is probably unbearable. It is also delightfully quiet here. It is really like being in the country and yet we have every convenience because everything is delivered to the house. […]"



Image

 

Zemlinsky' death certificate, 16 March 1942. Zemlinsky was already a broken man when he arrived in America. Serious illness was only a question of time. In his last handwritten letter to Schoenberg dating from the end of 1939 he wrote; "Dear Schoenberg, Soon after our arrival in New York I fell ill with a serious nervous disease and it also soon became clear to us that we will not stay in this city and now it is decided that we will go west. As soon as the first day of spring arrives we will leave here. I had terrible pains for months. What we went through and saw in Vienna could only lead to this: a complete nervous breakdown. I'll write more to you as soon as I can. […]"

Die letzten Jahre

New York 1938–1942


„Hier möchte ich nicht einmal begraben sein.“
Zemlinsky, 1939


Zemlinsky kam mit seiner Frau und seiner Tochter im Alter von 67 Jahren nach New York. Seine angegriffene Gesundheit und die Erlebnisse der vergangenen Monate machen begreiflich, dass ihm die Anpassung an die neuen Lebensbedingungen schwer fiel. Die ersten Wochen verbrachte die Familie in einem Hotel in Manhattan, im Februar 1939 mietete sie eine Wohnung in 46 West 83rd Street.

Immerhin fand Zemlinsky kurzzeitig Kraft, einen Sprachkurs zu besuchen. Doch Mitte 1939 erlitt er einen schweren Schlaganfall. Um dem Lärm der Stadt zu entkommen, zog er 1940 mit Louise – die Tochter blieb in New York – in eine ruhig gelegene Wohnung nach New Rochelle nordwestlich der Stadt. Mittlerweile war Louises Bruder Otto zu ihnen gestoßen, durch dessen Hilfe die finanziellen Schwierigkeiten weitgehend behoben werden konnten. Otto starb noch im Dezember desselben Jahres.

Zu einigen Freunden aus Europa hatte Zemlinsky in New York regelmäßig Kontakt. Zunächst vor allem zu seinem ehemaligen Schüler Arthur Bodanzky, der Ende 1939 starb, aber auch zu Hans Heinsheimer von der Universal Edition, zu dem Dirigenten Fritz Stiedry und zu Walter Firner, einem Freund aus der Berliner Zeit. Mit Schönberg, der in Los Angeles lebte, kam es wieder zu einigen wenigen Briefwechseln. Er wollte Zemlinsky dazu bewegen, auch in den Westen zu kommen, was jedoch dessen Gesundheit nicht zuließ. Persönlich begegneten sie sich noch einmal, als Schönberg im November 1940 in New York seinen „Pierrot lunaire“ dirigierte.

Die künstlerische Arbeit war nicht mehr sehr ertragreich. Neben dem Opernprojekt „Circe“, das er direkt nach dem Scheitern des „Kandaules“ in Angriff nahm, entstanden – aus finanzieller Notlage heraus – zwei pädagogische Schulstücke sowie einige leichte Lieder, deren von Arthur Bodanzky vermittelte Veröffentlichung Zemlinsky jedoch nur unter dem Pseudonym „Al Roberts“ gestattete.

Von einem neuerlichen Schlaganfall im Dezember 1940 erholte sich Zemlinsky nicht mehr. Am 15. 3. 1942, vier Tage, nachdem er mit Louise ein Haus im nahen Larchmont bezogen hatte, starb Zemlinsky.

Image


Zemlinskys Sterbehaus in Larchmont, N.Y., Fotografie von 1985. Das Haus haben Alexander, Louise und ihr Bruder Otto erst vier Tage vor Zemlinskys Tod bezogen. Bis dahin wohnten sie in einer Parterre-Wohnung mit Garten im nahen New Rochelle. In einem Brief an seine später im KZ ermordete Mutter in Prag vom 4. 8. 1940 beschrieb Otto die erste Zeit außerhalb Manhattans: „[…] Wir sind ganz von Grün umgeben und das Vogelgezwitscher am Morgen ist herrlich. In letzter Zeit haben wir wenig Besuch gehabt, da viele unserer Bekannten über den Sommer weggefahren sind, aber eigentlich empfinden wir das eher als Wohltat. Alex schimpft zwar manchmal – Du kennst ihn ja – aber meist ist er sehr heiter. Luise sieht sehr gut aus und ich, angeblich wie noch nie! […] Vor allem sind wir glücklich, nicht mehr in New York zu sein, wo die Hitze unerträglich sein muss. Auch ist hier eine köstliche Stille. Man ist wirklich wie am Land und hat doch alle Bequemlichkeiten, da einem alles ins Haus zugestellt wird. […]“





Image




Todesbescheinigung Zemlinskys, 16. 3. 1942. Zemlinsky war schon ein gebrochener Mann, als er in Amerika eintraf. Die schwere Krankheit war nur ein Frage der Zeit. In seinem letzten eigenhändigen Brief an Schönberg von Ende 1939 heißt es: „Lieber Schönberg. Bald nach unserer Ankunft in Newyork erkrankte ich an einer schweren Nervenkrankheit und ebenso bald wurde es uns klar, daß wir nicht in dieser Stadt bleiben werden und jetzt steht fest, daß wir nach dem Westen gehen. Wie der 1. Frühlingstag kommt, fahren wir hier von hier weg. Monate lang lag ich mit großen Schmerzen. Das, was wir in Wien erlebt u. gesehen haben konnte nur diesem Abschluß führen: ein kompletter Nervenzusammenbruch. Ich werde Dir bald mehr schreiben sobald ichs imstande bin. […]“