On the Edge of the Viennese School

Zemlinsky and the music of his time


"Everything that Zemlinsky composes is close to its time, modern but it is not fashionable music"

Hans Heinsheimer

Zemlinsky was a composer who by virtue of his artistic nature reacted "seismographically" to his musical surroundings. Unlike Arnold Schoenberg he would not have dreamed of abandoning aesthetic criteria and striving for purity of style. Consistency for its own sake was alien to Zemlinsky and instead he was always prepared to react to anything new and to convey foreign elements from others in his music. Even though the influences of other composers are evident in many of his works, these references are very far from simply being imitations. On the contrary, in the sense of a "productive eclecticism" Zemlinsky absorbed the trends of his time and merged them with his own idiom. Besides a clearly defined musical personality the prerequisite for this was the ability to internalise alien forms of expression, something which Zemlinsky possessed to a high degree not least because of his great experience as a conductor.

After the early years, which were still characterised by conveying stylistic elements of Brahms and Wagner, it was Gustav Mahler in particular who had an important influence on Zemlinsky as a composer, conductor and as an intellectual model. Mahler also had a high estimation for Zemlinsky. In 1910 Rudolf Stefan Hoffman wrote, "It cannot be determined whether Zemlinsky is a member of the Mahler clique or whether Mahler should be ascribed to the Zemlinsky clique." The other great virtuoso in dealing with the orchestra, Richard Strauss, was certainly more foreign to Zemlinsky as a person, and yet especially in the operas of his middle years there are some elements that are reminiscent of the expressive Strauss of Salome and Elektra. From the late 1920s Zemlinsky opened himself up increasingly to music that was not rooted in Vienna and the mood of change from the turn of the century. For instance, stylistic elements of Weill, Hindemith, Krenek and Bartók become evident. However, the composer who at this time was closest to Zemlinsky both musically and on a human level was ultimately a Viennese: Alban Berg. After Zemlinsky lost touch with Schoenberg from 1927, it appears that Berg replaced him as a close friend from the Viennese School.

Image

 

Letter from Gustav Mahler to Zemlinsky undated, before 1904: "I enjoyed expressing my affiliation to your endeavours and my complete sympathy for your aims. As you now regard it as useful or appropriate that I publicly avow my faith in the future by accepting a title, do give me whatever name you wish. […]" On 23 April 1904 Mahler was elected honorary president of the Association of Creative Musicians founded by Zemlinsky and Schoenberg.

Am Rande der Wiener Schule

Zemlinsky und die Musik seiner Zeit


"Dabei ist alles, was Zemlinsky schreibt, zeitnahe, zeitgemäße, nur eben nicht Modemusik."

Hans Heinsheimer

Zemlinsky war ein Komponist mit einer "seismografischen" Reaktionsfähigkeit auf seine musikalische Umwelt. Dies gründete in erster Linie in seinem künstlerischen Naturell, dem es – im Gegensatz zu Arnold Schönberg – fern lag, ästhetische Kriterien zu verabsolutieren und eine Reinheit des Stils anzustreben. Konsequenz um ihrer selbst willen war Zemlinsky fremd, stattdessen war er stets bereit, auf Neues zu reagieren und auch einander Fremdes in seiner Musik zu vermitteln. So deutlich sich in vielen seiner Werke Einflüsse anderer Komponisten zeigen, so weit entfernt sind diese Bezüge von bloßer Nachahmung. Vielmehr hat Zemlinsky im Sinne eines "produktiven Eklektizismus" Tendenzen der Zeit aufgenommen und mit seinem eigenen Idiom verschmolzen. Voraussetzung dafür war neben einer ausgeprägten musikalischen Persönlichkeit das Vermögen, fremde Ausdrucksformen zu verinnerlichen – und dieses besaß Zemlinsky nicht zuletzt durch seine große dirigentische Erfahrung in hohem Maße.

Nach den frühen Jahren, die noch im Zeichen der Vermittlung Brahms'scher und Wagner'scher Stilelemente standen, war es vor allem Gustav Mahler, der einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf Zemlinsky hatte – als Komponist, Dirigent und geistiges Vorbild. Auch Mahler schätzte Zemlinsky sehr. Rudolf Stefan Hoffmann schrieb noch 1910: "Es ist […] nicht zu erfahren, ob Zemlinsky der Mahler-Clique oder Mahler der Zemlinsky-Clique zuzurechnen ist." Der andere große Virtuose im Umgang mit dem Orchester, Richard Strauss, war als Person Zemlinsky sicher fremder, doch erinnert manches, besonders in den mittleren Opern, an den expressiven Strauss der "Salome" und "Elektra". Seit den späten 20er Jahren hat sich Zemlinsky zunehmend auch einer Musik geöffnet, die ihre Wurzeln nicht in Wien und der Aufbruchsstimmung der Jahrhundertwende hat. So scheinen Stilelemente eines Weill, Hindemith, Kr¹enek und Bartók auf. Der Komponist aber, der zu dieser Zeit Zemlinsky sowohl musikalisch als auch menschlich am nächsten war, war schließlich doch ein Wiener: Alban Berg. Nachdem Zemlinskys Kontakt zu Schönberg seit 1927 unterbrochen war, hat Berg, wie es scheint, Schönbergs Stelle als Vertrauter der "Wiener Schule" eingenommen.

 

Image


Brief Gustav Mahlers an Zemlinsky, undatiert, vor 1904: "Es war mir eine Freude, Ihnen meine Zugehörigkeit zu Ihren Bestrebungen und meine vollste Sympathie für Ihre Ziele mündlich auszudrücken. – Da Sie es nun als förderlich oder geziemend betrachten, daß ich meinen Glauben an die Zukunft durch die Annahme eines Titels auch öffentlich bekenne, so nennen Sie mich denn wie Sie wollen. […]" Mahler war am 23. 4. 1904 zum Ehrenpräsidenten der von Zemlinsky und Schönberg gegründeten "Vereinigung schaffender Tonkünstler" gewählt worden.