On Route to the Capital City of Music

Vienna 1895–1911


"His praises cannot be sung highly enough"
Paul Stefan

For a talented and conscientiously trained musician like Zemlinsky, Vienna, with its rich musical life around the turn of the century, offered an abundance of opportunities but also demanded a great will to succeed. During the years between completing his studies and before leaving for Prague Zemlinsky managed to gain a lot of practical experience as a conductor and teacher and to find his own language as a composer. Nevertheless he never had a real breakthrough, partly because of his passive temperament and partly because of some unfortunate exterior circumstances. For Zemlinsky's development as a composer and conductor it was important for him to be a member of some musical associations. From 1893 to 1903 he belonged to the Tonkünstlerverein which Brahms supported; from 1903 to 1904 Zemlinsky was a member of the literary orientated Ansorge-Verein. In 1904, together with Schoenberg, he founded the "Association of Creative Musicians" which was especially concerned with fostering new music. Mahler was the honorary president but it only existed for a year.

The institution which probably had the greatest impact personally on Zemlinsky was the orchestra association Polyhymnia, which brought together various amateur orchestras in the second district of Vienna and whose artistic director he was from its foundation in 1895. Here Zemlinsky was able to perform many of his own works and also became acquainted with Arnold Schoenberg, who was to become the most important friend in his life.

Besides his commitments in the artists' associations Zemlinsky also made contacts with many of the important musicians, literati, painters and critics from the pulsating Vienna art scene, including Gustav Mahler, Frank Schreker, Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Heuberger, Richard Gerstl, Arthur Bodanzky, Julius Korngold, Rudolf Stefan Hoffmann and Richard Specht. Besides his separation from Alma Schindler and the encounter with Schoenberg, three events made a decisive impact on Zemlinsky's private life: in 1899 he converted to Protestantism; in 1907 he married Ida Guttmann (born in 1880), the sister of the flame of his youth Melanie, and in 1908 his daughter Johanna was born.

Image

 

Johannes Brahms, photograph by Maria Fellinger, 1896. The encounter with Brahms was one of the young Zemlinsky's most important experiences as he regarded him as a great idol alongside Wagner. "I knew most of Brahms's works thoroughly and it was as if I were obsessed by this music", wrote Zemlinsky later. Brahms was also one of his most important patrons. He instigated the Tonkünstlerverein to organise a competition, in which Zemlinsky won third prize on 22 December 1896 with his Clarinet Trio, op. 3. Not long afterwards Brahms recommended this work to his own publisher Simrock.
Image

 

Programme bill dated 25 January 1905, Golden Hall of the Musikverein, Association of Creative Musicians in Vienna. The concert in which Zemlinsky and Schoenberg conducted the world premieres of what were their most important orchestral works until then and which they had composed more or less at the same time, was one of the highlights of their joint activities in Vienna and a document of their friendship on both an artistic and human level.
Image

 

Postcard to Zemlinsky in Rottach/Tegernsee, 14 August 1906. The anonymous writer noted a "motif for a symphonic tone poem Der Bergsteiger that is to be performed 'energetically at all costs'" — a parody of the beginning of Schoenberg's First Chamber Symphony, op. 9.
Image

 

Hugo von Hofmannsthal, block print from a photograph by Hugo Erfurth, 1911.
Hofmannsthal was one of the most important poets for Zemlinsky. Between 1901 and 1904 he worked on composing ballet music for Hofmannsthal's drama tryptichon Der Triumph der Zeit (The Triumph of Time). Hofmannsthal had first offered the text to Richard Strauss in 1900 but he turned it down. A performance at the Hofoper did not come to fruition because Gustav Mahler expressed doubts about the dramatic quality of the work. From the music he had composed Zemlinsky later compiled an orchestral suite and the one-act ballet Ein Tanzpoem (A Dance Poem).

Wege in der Hauptstadt der Musik

Wien 1895–1911


„Sein Lob kann nicht laut genug verkündet werden.“
Paul Stefan

Für einen begabten und gewissenhaft ausgebildeten Musiker wie Zemlinsky bot das überreiche Wiener Musikleben um die Jahrhundertwende eine Fülle an Chancen, erforderte aber auch große Durchsetzungskraft. Zemlinsky gelang es in den Jahren zwischen dem Abschluss seines Studiums und dem Weggang nach Prag, als Dirigent und Lehrer viel Praxis zu sammeln und als Komponist seine eigene Sprache zu finden. Der große Durchbruch blieb jedoch aus, teils wegen seines passiven Temperaments, teils wegen manch unglücklicher äußerer Umstände. Wichtig für Zemlinskys Weg als Komponist und Dirigent war die Mitgliedschaft in einigen musikalischen Vereinen: 1893–1903 gehörte er dem von Brahms unterstützten Tonkünstlerverein an, 1903–1904 dem literarisch orientierten Ansorge-Verein. 1904 gründete er gemeinsam mit Schönberg die „Vereinigung schaffender Tonkünstler“, die sich vor allem der Pflege neuer Musik widmete. Als Ehrenpräsident konnte Mahler gewonnen werden; sie bestand jedoch nur ein Jahr.

Die für Zemlinsky persönlich wohl prägendste Institution jedoch war die Orchestervereinigung „Polyhymnia“, die verschiedene Laienorchester im II. Wiener Bezirk integrierte und deren künstlerischer Leiter er seit der Gründung 1895 war. Hier konnte Zemlinsky nicht nur zahlreiche eigene Werke aufführen, sondern lernte mit Arnold Schönberg auch den wichtigsten Freund seines Lebens kennen.

Über das Engagement in den Künstler-Vereinen hinaus knüpfte Zemlinsky Kontakte zu vielen der wichtigen Musiker, Literaten, Maler und Kritiker aus der pulsierenden Wiener Kunstszene, darunter Gustav Mahler, Franz Schreker, Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Heuberger, Richard Gerstl, Arthur Bodanzky, Julius Korngold, Rudolf Stefan Hoffmann und Richard Specht. Drei Ereignisse griffen – neben der Trennung von Alma Schindler und der Begegnung mit Schönberg – entscheidend in Zemlinskys Privatleben ein: 1899 konvertierte er zum Protestantismus, 1907 heiratete er Ida Guttmann (geb. 1880), die Schwester seiner Jugendliebe Melanie, 1908 wurde seine Tochter Johanna geboren.



Image


Johannes Brahms, Fotografie von Maria Fellinger, 1896. Die Begegnung mit Brahms, dem neben Wagner großen Vorbild, war eines der bedeutendsten Erlebnisse des jungen Zemlinsky. „Ich kannte die meisten Werke Brahms’ gründlich und war wie besessen von dieser Musik“, schrieb er später. Brahms war auch einer seiner wichtigsten Förderer. In einem von ihm angeregten Wettbewerb des Tonkünstlervereins gewann Zemlinsky am 22. 12. 1896 mit seinem Klarinetten-Trio op. 3 den dritten Preis, wenig später empfahl Brahms die Publikation dieses Werkes seinem Verleger Simrock.
Image


Programmzettel 25. 1. 1905, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Vereinigung schaffender Tonkünstler in Wien. Das Konzert, in dem Zemlinsky und Schönberg die Uraufführungen ihrer zeitgleich entstandenen und bis dahin bedeutendsten Orchesterwerke dirigierten, war einer der Höhepunkte ihrer gemeinsamen Aktivitäten in Wien – und ein Dokument ihrer künstlerischen und menschlichen Freundschaft.
Image


Postkarte an Zemlinsky in Rottach/ Tegernsee, 14. 8. 1906. Der unbekannte Verfasser notiert ein „Motiv zu einer symphonischen Dichtung ,der Bergsteiger‘“, die „energisch um jeden Preis“ vorzutragen ist – eine Parodie auf den Beginn von Schönbergs Erster Kammersinfonie op. 9.
Image


Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Klischeedruck nach einer Fotografie von Hugo Erfurth, 1911.
Hofmannsthal war für Zemlinsky einer der wichtigsten Dichter. Eine Ballettmusik nach seinem Theater-Tryptichon „Der Triumph der Zeit“ war das zentrale Projekt, an dem er zwischen 1901 und 1904 arbeitete. Hofmannsthal hatte den Text 1900 zunächst Richard Strauss angeboten, der aber ablehnte. Eine Aufführung an der Hofoper scheiterte, als Gustav Mahler Zweifel an der dramatischen Qualität des Werks äußerte. Aus der komponierten Musik stellte Zemlinsky später eine Orchestersuite und das einaktige Ballett „Ein Tanzpoem“ zusammen.