The Opera Composer / II

Kleider machen Leute – The One-act Play by Wilde


"He is at home in opera"

Franz Werfel

Zemlinsky was not the man for course funniness and thigh-slapping comedy but he had a great sense of subtle humour. Gottfried Keller's novella Kleider machen Leute with its mixture of fairy-tale, satire and exaggerated idyll gave him the ideal subject for his musical comedy of the same name, which he composed from 1907 to 1909 (libretto: Leo Feld) and himself conducted the first performance in 1910 at the Volksoper.

Image

 

Kleider machen Leute, Vienna Volksoper, 1985, stage photo of Victor Mory with Peter Baillie, Peter Drahosch, Kurt Ruzicka, Wolfgang Schellenberg and Kurt Schreibmayer in the "Smoke Quintet" in Act 1.

Zemlinsky's opera became one of the few successful high quality comedies suitable for repertoire performances in his time. The ambiguity of Keller's play about pretence and reality is reflected in music that is equally indebted to Mozart as well as to Mahler.

With the one-act operas based on Oscar Wilde Eine florentinische Tragödie and Der Zwerg Zemlinsky created two works in Prague which finally established his reputation as one of the most well versed and versatile opera composers of his time. They remain until today his most frequently played stage works. Eine florentinische Tragödie based on the play of the same name by Oscar Wilde is a chamber work with great psychological intensity.

The opera unfolds a single situation, the triangle as often found in Zemlinsky's operas, of a woman caught between two rival men. This constellation inevitably leads to a catastrophe, depicted by Zemlinsky with music which in its erotic richness of sound is reminiscent of Salome by Strauss but functions even more strongly as an independent layer complementing the text by sophisticated nuances.

 

Image

 

Eine florentinische Tragödie, Hamburg State Opera 1981, stage photo of Joachim Thode with Kenneth Riegel as Guido Bardi and Elisabeth Steiner as Bianca.

In Der Zwerg (1919-21) based on Wilde's novella The Birthday of the Infanta the expressionist parlando of the "tragedy" gives way to a more cantabile style and Zemlinsky also again goes back to more traditional forms. Nevertheless, Der Zwerg is ultimately the more modern opera, as heterogynous stylistic layers are cut in an almost film-like technique and transposed over each other. Thus Zemlinsky succeeds in achieving such shattering effects contrasting the cold, calculating world of the princess and the touching fate of the dwarf, who is driven step by step into fatal self-recognition.

Image

 

Der Zwerg, London (Royal Opera House Covent Garden) 1985, stage photo of Reg Wilson with Kenneth Riegel as the dwarf.
Image Franz Wacik: sketch for the title design of a cover for the print edition of the Florentinische Tragödie published by Universal Edition, pen and ink drawing. Wacik was a pupil of Alfred Roller and from 1910 a member of the Vienna Secession. The sketch was not used by the publishers. Zemlinsky found it unusually easy to compose the "tragedy": "Throughout the entire period (of composition) a certain warmth never left me; everything came to me easily," he wrote in 1915 to Schoenberg.

Der Opernkomponist / II

Kleider machen Leute – Die Wilde-Einakter


"Er ist in der Oper zu Hause."

Franz Werfel

Zemlinsky war nicht der Mann für derbe Lustigkeit und schmissige Komik, hatte aber viel Sinn für hintergründigen Humor. So bot ihm Gottfried Kellers Novelle "Kleider machen Leute" mit ihrer Mischung aus Märchen, Satire und überzeichneter Idylle eine ideale Stoffvorlage für seine gleichnamige musikalische Komödie, die er 1907–09 komponierte (Libretto: Leo Feld) und 1910 selbst an der Volksoper uraufführte.

Image


"Kleider machen Leute", Volksoper Wien 1985, Szenenfoto von Victor Mory mit Peter Baillie, Peter Drahosch, Kurt Ruzicka, Wolfgang Schellenberg und Kurt Schreibmayer im "Rauchquintett" des I. Aktes.

Zemlinsky gelang mit dieser Oper eine der wenigen anspruchsvollen und repertoiretauglichen Komödien seiner Zeit. Die Doppelbödigkeit des Kellerschen Spiels um Schein und Sein spiegelt sich in einer Musik, die Mozart ebenso wie Mahler verpflichtet ist.

Mit den Einaktern nach Oscar Wilde "Eine florentinische Tragödie" und "Der Zwerg" schuf Zemlinsky in Prag die beiden Opern, mit denen er seinen Ruf als einer der versiertesten und vielseitigsten Opernkomponisten seiner Zeit endgültig festigte. Bis heute sind sie seine meistgespielten Bühnenwerke.

"Eine florentinische Tragödie" nach Wildes gleichnamigem Drama ist ein Kammerspiel von größter psychologischer Intensität. Die Oper entfaltet nur eine einzige Situation, die in Zemlinskys Opern häufig anzutreffende Dreieckskonstellation von einer Frau und zwei rivalisierenden Männern. Für die Zwangsläufigkeit, mit der diese Situation in die Katastrophe führt, hat Zemlinsky eine Musik komponiert, die in ihrer erotisierenden Klangfülle an Strauss' "Salome" gemahnt, noch stärker als dort jedoch als eigenständige, das Wort durch feine Zwischentöne ergänzende Schicht funktioniert.


Image


"Eine florentinische Tragödie", Hamburgische Staatsoper 1981, Szenenfoto von Joachim Thode mit Kenneth Riegel als Guido Bardi und Elisabeth Steiner als Bianca.
In "Der Zwerg" (1919–21) nach Wildes Novelle "Der Geburtstag der Infantin" weicht das expressionistische Parlando der "Tragödie" wieder einem kantableren Stil, auch greift Zemlinsky wieder mehr auf traditionelle Formen zurück. Doch ist "Der Zwerg" letztlich die modernere Oper, werden doch heterogene Stilschichten hier in einer fast filmischen Technik aneinander geschnitten und überlagert. Zemlinsky gelingen so erschütternde Kontrastwirkungen zwischen der kalt-berechnenden Welt der Prinzessin und dem ergreifenden Schicksal des Zwerges, der Schritt für Schritt in die tödliche Selbst-Erkenntnis getrieben wird.


Image


"Der Zwerg", London (Covent Garden) 1985, Szenenfoto von Reg Wilson mit Kenneth Riegel als Zwerg.
Image Franz Wacik: Entwurf für die Titelgestaltung eines Umschlags für die in der Universal Edition erscheinende Druckausgabe der "Florentinischen Tragödie", Tuschfederzeichnung. Wacik war ein Schüler Alfred Rollers und seit 1910 Mitglied der Wiener Secession. Der Entwurf wurde vom Verlag nicht verwendet. Die Komposition der "Tragödie" ging Zemlinsky ungewöhnlich leicht von der Hand: "Ich bin während der ganzen Zeit nicht aus der gewissen Wärme herausgekommen, es fließt mir alles leicht zu", schrieb er 1915 an Schönberg.