Der König Kandaules / I

Composition – Reconstruction – Orchestration


"Everything in love this earth created, I would wish it were by me"

"Der König Kandaules"

After the depressing experiences Zemlinsky had had with Der Kreidekreis, which the Nazis prohibited, he could not count on a theatre in the German-speaking world performing a new opera by him. Nevertheless in Vienna, with the help of his wife, he tried to find a new subject. In 1935, when Louise brought his attention to André Gide's drama Le Roi Candaule (1899), after some initial hesitation he decided to compose an opera based on the book and arranged the text as a libretto. He sketched the score between June 1935 and December 1936. However, he made little progress on the orchestration: the oppressive political situation paralysed his creativity and also, as he was working on the orchestration, he made extensive changes to the sketch. When the family fled from Vienna in 1938, only a good third of the orchestral score was finished.

In New York Zemlinsky had high hopes for the opera and through its performance wanted to establish himself in the New World. Yet it was not to come to this: he showed the libretto to his friend Arthur Bodanzky, who at the time was conducting at the Met but he advised Zemlinsky from completing the opera because a nude scene, as planned in the second act, would make it impossible to perform the work before a prudish American audience. Zemlinsky had to abandon Kandaules.

During the 1950s his widow had already pursued a plan to have the orchestration of the opera completed and asked "a composer" whether he would be able to do so. However, this person turned down her request and for a long time she undertook no further steps. In 1981 she commissioned Friedrich Cerha, whose completed version of Alban Berg's Lulu had been given its world premiere in 1979, to complete the orchestration. Cerha gave the material a thorough analysis but also turned down her request referring to what he also regarded as the incomplete manuscript of the text. It was not until 1990 that a musician was found in Antony Beaumont who succeeded in reconstructing the entire fragment. He was commissioned by the Hamburg State Opera to complete the orchestration of Zemlinsky's final opera which he did in the years 1992-1995 and it was given its world premiere in Hamburg on 6 October 1996.

Der König Kandaules / I

Komposition – Rekonstruktion – Instrumentation


„Alles, was Verliebtes diese Erde schuf, ich wollt’, es sei von mir erschaffen.“

„Der König Kandaules“

Nach den deprimierenden Erfahrungen mit dem von den Nazis abgesetzten „Kreidekreis“ konnte Zemlinsky nicht damit rechnen, dass ein deutschsprachiges Theater eine neue Oper von ihm aufführen würde. Dennoch begab er sich in Wien mit Hilfe seiner Frau bald auf die Suche nach einem neuen Stoff. Als Louise ihn 1935 auf André Gides Drama „Le Roi Candaule“ (1899) aufmerksam machte, entschloss er sich nach anfänglichem Zögern, das Buch zu komponieren und richtete den Text als Libretto ein. Die Partiturskizze schrieb er zwischen Juni 1935 und Dezember 1936. Die Arbeit an der Instrumentation ging jedoch nur schleppend voran: Die bedrückende politische Situation lähmte seine Schaffenskraft, zudem nahm er noch während der Instrumentation umfangreiche Änderungen am Particell vor. Als die Familie 1938 aus Wien floh, war erst gut ein Drittel der Orchesterpartitur fertig.

In New York legte Zemlinsky große Hoffnungen in die Oper, durch deren Aufführung er sich in der Neuen Welt künstlerisch etablieren wollte. Doch dazu sollte es nicht kommen: Als er das Libretto seinem Freund Arthur Bo-danzky zeigte, der seinerzeit an der Met dirigierte, riet dieser davon ab, die Oper zu vollenden, denn angesichts der im II. Akt vorgesehenen Nackt-szene sei an eine Aufführung vor dem prüden amerikanischen Publikum ohnehin nicht zu denken. Zemlinsky mußte den „Kandaules“ aufgeben.

Schon in den 50er Jahren hat seine Witwe den Plan verfolgt, die Instrumentation der Oper ergänzen zu lassen und „einen Komponisten“ gefragt, ob er sich dazu in der Lage sähe. Dieser lehnte jedoch ab, und lange Zeit unternahm sie keine weiteren Schritte. 1981 beauftragte sie Friedrich Cerha, dessen Vervollständigung von Bergs „Lulu“ 1979 uraufgeführt worden war, die Instrumentation zu ergänzen. Cerha prüfte das Material, lehnte aber mit Hinweis auf das seiner Ansicht nach unvollständige Manuskript ebenfalls ab. Erst 1990 fand sich mit Antony Beaumont ein Musiker, dem es gelang, das vollständige Particell zu rekonstruieren. Im Auftrag der Hamburgischen Staatsoper vollendete er 1992–95 die Instrumentation von Zemlinskys letzter Oper, die am 6. 10. 1996 in Hamburg mit überwältigendem Erfolg uraufgeführt wurde.