Exodus from Vienna

Vienna – Prague – New York 1938


"I'm coming with you"
Zemlinsky to his wife who was resolved to escape, 1938

After the Anschluss (annexation) of Austria in March 1938 the Zemlinsky family of three soon decided to emigrate to the USA. As a first step Zemlinsky applied on 7 May for an entry visa to Prague, which he received in June, valid for four months. At the same time the girlfriend of his youth — his first wife's sister, Melanie Guttmann-Rice — who had emigrated already in 1901, tried to acquire an affidavit (capitalist visa) from the American immigration authorities for the Zemlinskys. She had to oblige herself to support the immigrants in case of an emergency. However, the application was turned down.

The family stayed therefore for the time being in the city. The official route to an escape was arduous and Zemlinsky found it extremely difficult to give up his homeland — even though the impending catastrophe had literally already reached the composer's door: one day when the Nazis knocked at the door in the Kaasgrabengasse, it was only thanks to Louise's presence of mind, who offered them a donation, that nothing worse happened. As Louise related later, at the time Zemlinsky was considering converting back to the Jewish faith.

Finally in the autumn the family decided to flee. Countless other formalities had to be settled. The hardest was the payment of a Reichsfluchtsteuer (a tax for escaping from the Reich) amounting to 27,718 Reichsmark — this more or less corresponded to the value of the house in the Kaasgrabengasse.
The Zemlinskys left Vienna on 10 September. They each had $8 "travel allowance" in their pocket and set off for Prague where initially they lived with Louise's mother. Nine weeks later they travelled via Rotterdam to Boulogne where they embarked on 14 December on the SS Statendam. They arrived in New York on 23 December. Their housemaid had arranged the transport of their belongings, including their furniture and Zemlinsky's manuscripts and these arrived in the city on 25 January 1939. One manuscript, however, was among the few pieces of luggage Zemlinsky took with him on the long journey: his new opera Der König Kandaules.

Image

 

Final notification of "Escape Tax", issued for Alexander and Louise Zemlinsky on 20 August 1938 in Vienna. According to an order of April 1938 the amount of tax to be paid was a fourth of the entire capital of the émigrés.
Image

 

Fiscal clearance certificate, issued for Alexander and Louise Zemlinsky on 5 September 1938 in Vienna. This certificate was only issued when the payment of the "Escape Tax" had been registered by the authorities.
Image

 

Zemlinsky's last passport, issued on 7 September 1938 in Vienna. Louise Zemlinsky had taken the initiative to escape from Vienna. Later she recalled, "When Hitler came to Austria, I decided the next day to go to the American Embassy and apply for a visa. I asked Zemlinsky if he wanted to stay in Vienna. He wanted to sleep over it. The following morning he said to me, 'I'm coming with you.'"
However, it took until the autumn before the family could in fact leave Europe. The escape began on 10 September 1938 with the journey from Vienna to Prague. In the nine weeks the Zemlinskys stayed there, they experienced circumstances that were hardly different from those in Vienna. Here many formalities had to be settled too, including the application for an American entry visa "on the quota"(without proof of a living). This document arrived on 11 November; the family left Prague on 2 December. First they flew to Belgium, then took the train to Rotterdam and left there by ship first to Boulogne, from where on 14 December they set off for the New World.

Image

 

Alien Registration Receipt Card with Zemlinsky's fingerprint, ca. 1940. The document was a kind of personal identity card for non-Americans, issued by the immigration authorities.

Exodus aus Wien

Wien – Prag – New York 1938


"Ich komme mit dir."
Zemlinsky zu seiner zur Flucht entschlossenen Frau, 1938

Nach dem "Anschluss" Österreichs im März 1938 erwog die dreiköpfige Familie Zemlinsky schon bald, in die USA auszuwandern. Als ersten Schritt beantragte Zemlinsky am 7. 5. ein Einreisevisum nach Prag, das er im Juni mit viermonatiger Gültigkeit erhielt. Zugleich versuchte seine Jugendliebe und Schwester seiner ersten Frau, Melanie Guttmann-Rice, die bereits 1901 ausgewandert war, bei den amerikanischen Einwanderungsbehörden für die Zemlinskys ein Affidavit ("Kapitalistenvisum") zu erwirken, in dem sie sich verpflichtete, im Notfall für den Unterhalt der Immigranten aufzukommen. Der Antrag wurde jedoch abgelehnt.

Noch blieb die Familie also in der Stadt. Der behördliche Weg zur Flucht war beschwerlich, und Zemlinsky fiel es unendlich schwer, seine Heimat aufzugeben – auch wenn die heraufdämmernde Katastrophe jetzt auch im Wortsinn die Haustür des Komponisten erreicht hatte: Als die Nationalsozialisten eines Tages an die Tür in der Kaasgrabengasse klopften, war es nur der Geistesgegenwart Louises, die ihnen eine Spende anbot, zu verdanken, dass es nicht zu Schlimmerem kam. Wie Louise später berichtete, hat Zemlinsky in dieser Zeit erwogen, wieder zum Judentum zu konvertieren.

Im Herbst endlich konnte sich die Familie zur Flucht entschließen. Zahllose weitere Formalitäten mussten erledigt werden. Am härtesten traf sie die Zahlung einer Reichsfluchtsteuer in Höhe von 27.718 RM – dies entsprach in etwa dem Wert des Hauses in der Kaasgrabengasse.
Am 10. 9. verließen die Zemlinkys Wien. Mit je acht Dollar "Reise-Freibetrag" in der Tasche fuhren sie nach Prag und lebten dort zunächst bei der Mutter Louises. Neun Wochen später reisten sie über Rotterdam nach Boulogne, wo sie sich am 14. 12. auf der SS "Statendam" einschifften. Sie erreichten New York am 23. 12. Ihr Hab und Gut, dessen Transport ihre Haushälterin organisiert hatte – darunter ihre Möbel und die Manuskripte Zemlinskys –, erreichten die Stadt am 25. 1. 1939. Ein Manuskript allerdings gehörte zu den wenigen Gepäckstücken, die Zemlinsky auf der langen Reise selbst mit sich führte: Seine neue Oper "Der König Kandaules".

 

Image


Endgültiger Reichsfluchtsteuerbescheid, ausgestellt für Alexander und Louise Zemlinsky am 20. 8. 1938 in Wien. Die Höhe der zu entrichtenden Steuer betrug nach Verordnung vom April 1938 ein Viertel des Gesamtvermögens der Flüchtenden.
Image


Steuerliche Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung, ausgestellt für Alexander und Louise Zemlinsky am 5. 9. 1938 in Wien. Diese Bescheinigung wurde erst dann ausgestellt, wenn die Zahlung der "Reichsfluchtsteuer" bei den Behörden eingegangen war.
Image


Zemlinskys letzter Reisepass, ausgestellt am 7. 9. 1938 in Wien. Die Initiative zur Flucht aus Wien hatte Louise Zemlinsky ergriffen. Später erinnerte sie sich: "Als Hitler nach Österreich kam, hab ich mich entschlossen, am nächsten Tag auf die amerikanische Gesandtschaft zu gehen und um ein Visum anzusuchen. Ich habe Zemlinsky gefragt, ob er in Wien bleiben will. Er wollte sich's überschlafen. Am nächsten Morgen sagte er zu mir: ,Ich komme mit dir.'"
Es dauerte jedoch noch bis zum Herbst, bis die Familie Europa tatsächlich verließ. Die Flucht begann am 10. 9. 1938 mit der Reise von Wien nach Prag. In den neun Wochen, die die Zemlinskys dort blieben, erlebten sie Zustände, die kaum anders waren als in Wien. Auch hier mussten wieder viele Formalitäten erledigt werden, unter anderem die Beantragung eines amerikanischen Einreisevisums "on the quota" (ohne Unterhaltsnachweis). Am 11. 11. traf dieses Dokument ein, am 2. 12. verließ die Familie Prag. Der Weg ging zunächst per Flugzeug nach Belgien, dann per Bahn nach Rotterdam und von dort per Schiff zunächst nach Boulogne, von wo am 14. 12. die Fähre in die Neue Welt ablegte.

Image


Alien Registration Receipt Card mit dem Fingerabdruck Zemlinskys, um 1940. Das Dokument war eine Art Personalausweis für Nicht-Amerikaner, ausgestellt von der Einwanderungsbehörde.