Composer and Conductor in his Homeland

Vienna 1895–1911


„Everything in the world would be wonderful if there were no operettas“
Zemlinsky, 1902

Zemlinsky took up his first regular appointment as a conductor in June 1900 at the Carltheater, which was, in additon to the Theater an der Wien the leading stage for performing operettas. Afterwards Zemlinsky worked for one season at the Theater an der Wien. It was not until his next engagement that he was able to devote more time to demanding repertoire after he had been appointed first kapellmeister at the Volksoper in 1904. The theatre concentrated mainly on the German repertoire but while Zemlinsky was there remarkable performances of French operas by Gounod, Auber, Halévy, Thomas, Meyerbeer and Dukas took place.

Zemlinsky’s engagement at the Volksoper was interrupted in 1907: Mahler, who in 1900 had conducted the world premiere of Zemlinsky’s second opera Es war einmal at the Hofoper, appointed him kapellmeister there. However, when irreconcilable tensions arose between Mahler’s successor Felix Weingartner and Zemlinsky, the latter returned — then as a guest conductor — to the Volksoper, where in 1910 he was able to present the world premiere of his opera created specially for this house Kleider machen Leute (1907-09).

Despite the enormous pressure of work as a conductor Zemlinsky was very productive during these years in Vienna as a composer in all genres. Besides four operas he composed important chamber works such as the Clarinet Trio (1896) and the First String Quartet (1896), orchestral music such as the Symphony in B flat major and the symphonic tone poem Die Seejungfrau, (1902-03), an incomplete ballet Der Triumph der Zeit based on a work by Hofmannsthal (1901-04) and also vocal works such as several song cycles, the Four Songs on texts by Maurice Maeterlinck (1910) and Psalm 23 for Choir and Orchestra. (1910)

Image

 

Programme note, 10 December 1910, Golden Hall of the Musikverein: concert office of the Imperial and Royal Society of the Friends of Music in Vienna. The world premiere of Zemlinsky’s Psalm 23 for Choir and Orchestra (1910) was conducted by Franz Schreker, whom Zemlinsky knew from his student years and with whom he remained friends until his Berlin years.
From 1907 to 1908 Schreker was also engaged as chorus master at the Volksoper.
Image

 

The Volksoper in Vienna (Emperor’s Jubilee City Theatre), postcard, around 1900. Vienna’s second opera house after the Hofoper was opened as part of the jubilee celebrations for the 50th year of Emperor Franz Joseph’s reign. Here Zemlinsky conducted over 30 premieres, including in 1908 the first performance in Austria of Ariane et Barbe-bleu by Paul Dukas as well as Salome by Richard Strauss in 1910, which at the time was still censored at the Hofoper.
Image

 

Theater an der Wien, woodcut by M. Vera Frieberger-Brunner, 1920. Other than Offenbach’s Les contes d’Hoffmann Zemlinsky had to conduct only really insignificant works here. However, the ensemble was larger than at the Carltheater and Alexander Girardi was one of its famous members.
Image

 

The Taborstrasse with the Carltheater, photograph dating from around 1900. Being appointed at this house brought Zemlinsky enormous experience in working in the theatre but it was artistically dissatisfying for him. The most important world premiere in this time was Richard Heuberger’s operetta Der Opernball (1901), parts of which Zemlinsky himself orchestrated. Egon Wellesz felt that the operetta years had more than a musical impact on Zemlinsky: “He was highly stimulating in conversation, even though cynical; like many talented composers he had to conduct operettas.”
Image

 

The Imperial and Royal Court Opera in Vienna (Hofoper), light print by Max Jaffé, around 1900. Zemlinsky made his debut here in May 1907 with Verdi’s Otello. Later he conducted Carmen and Die Zauberflöte. After differences of opinion with Mahler’s successor Weingartner his contract was terminated prematurely in February 1908.

Komponist und Dirigent in der Heimat

Wien 1895–1911

„Alles wär schön auf der Welt – wenn’s keine Operetten gäbe.“
Zemlinsky, 1902

Sein erstes festes Engagement als Dirigent trat Zemlinsky im Juni 1900 am Carltheater an, der neben dem Theater an der Wien führenden Operettenbühne Wiens. Er blieb dort für drei Spielzeiten, in denen er insgesamt 16 Operetten einstudierte. Danach wirkte Zemlinsky für eine Spielzeit am Theater an der Wien. Das anspruchsvolle Repertoire konnte er jedoch erst bei seinem folgenden Engagement betreuen, das ihn 1904 als Ersten Kapellmeister an die Volksoper führte. Das Theater setzte seinen Schwerpunkt auf das deutsche Repertoire, doch unter Zemlinskys Leitung fanden auch bemerkenswerte Aufführungen französischer Opern von Gounod, Auber, Halevy, Thomas, Meyerbeer und Dukas statt.

Das Engagement an der Volksoper wurde 1907 unterbrochen: Mahler, der 1900 die Uraufführung von Zemlinskys zweiter Oper „Es war einmal“ an der Hofoper geleitet hatte, holte ihn als Kapellmeister an sein Haus. Doch als sich zwischen seinem Nachfolger Felix Weingartner und Zemlinsky unlösbare Spannungen einstellten, kehrte Zemlinsky 1908 – nun als Gastdirigent – an die Volksoper zurück, wo er 1910 seine auf dieses Haus zugeschnittene Oper „Kleider machen Leute“ (1907–09) uraufführen konnte.

Trotz der enormen Arbeitsbelastung als Dirigent war Zemlinsky kompositorisch in diesen Wiener Jahren in allen Gattungen sehr produktiv. Neben vier Opern entstanden wichtige Werke der Kammermusik wie das Klarinetten-Trio (1896) und das 1. Streichquartett (1896), der Orchestermusikwie die B-Dur-Sinfonie und die sinfonische Dichtung „Die Seejungfrau“ (1902–03), ein unvollendetes Ballett „Der Triumph der Zeit“ nach Hofmannsthal (1901–04) sowie Vokalwerke wie mehrere Liederzyklen, die „Vier Gesänge“ nach Maurice Maeterlinck (1910) und der „23. Psalm“ für Chor und Orchester (1910).

 

Image


Programmzettel 10. 12. 1910, Großer Musikvereinssaal: Konzertbureau der k. k. Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien. Die Uraufführung von Zemlinskys 23. Psalm für Chor und Orchester (1910) dirigierte Franz Schreker, den Zemlinsky noch aus seiner Studienzeit kannte und mit dem er bis zu seinen Berliner Jahren befreundet blieb.
1907/08 war Schreker außerdem als Chordirektor an der Volksoper engagiert.
Image


Die Wiener Volksoper (Kaiserjubiläums-Stadttheater), Postkarte, um 1900. Das neben der Hofoper zweite Opernhaus Wiens wurde zum 50-jährigen Regierungsjubiläum Kaiser Franz Josephs eröffnet. Zemlinsky dirigierte hier über 30 Premieren, darunter 1908 als österreichische Erstaufführung Paul Dukas’ „Ariane et Barbe-bleu“ sowie 1910 Strauss’ „Salome“, die zuder Zeit an der Hofoper noch zensuriert war.
Image


Theater an der Wien, Holzschnitt von M. Vera Frieberger-Brunner, 1920. Außer Offenbachs „Les Contes d’Hoffmann“ hatte Zemlinsky hier nur recht unbedeutende Werke zu dirigieren. Das Ensemble war aber größer als am Carltheater und verfügte mit Alexander Girardi über eine echte Berühmtheit.
Image


Die Taborstraße mit dem Carltheater, Fotografie um 1900. Das Engagement an diesem Haus verschaffte Zemlinsky enorme Erfahrungen im Theaterbetrieb, war aber künstlerisch unbefriedigend. Die bedeutendste Uraufführung dieser Zeit war Richard Heubergers Operette „Der Opernball“ (1901), die Zemlinsky zum Teil selbst instrumentierte. Für Egon Wellesz haben die Operetten-Jahre Zemlinsky nicht nur musikalisch geprägt: „Er war höchst anregend im Gespräch, wenn auch zynisch; denn wie viele begabte Komponisten hatte er Operetten dirigieren müssen.“
Image


Die k. k. Hofoper in Wien, Lichtdruck von Max Jaffé, um 1900. Zemlinsky debutierte hier im Mai 1907 mit Verdis „Otello“, später dirigierte er u.a. „Carmen“ und „Die Zauberflöte“. Nach Differenzen mit Mahlers Nachfolger Weingartner endete sein Vertrag bereits im Februar 1908.