Closeness and Alienation

Zemlinsky and Schönberg / II


"… it seems we do not have a common time"
Schönberg, 1927

Between 1908 and 1911 Schoenberg completed the decisive steps towards composing without a tonal foundation. Zemlinsky rejected this development and did not want to follow it but as an artist and friend he supported it. "I do not always have the same love for Schoenberg's recent works but boundless respect." (1912)
At around the same time Schoenberg went through a crisis in his private life that indirectly also affected Zemlinsky. After an affair with the painter Richard Gerstl, Mathilde Schoenberg left her husband for a short time. When the situation proved to be irreconcilable, Gerstl committed suicide at the end of 1908. We do not know how Zemlinsky behaved towards his sister and his brother-in-law but the situation certainly tested the friendship between the two composers who lived until 1909 in the same house in the Liechtensteinstrasse in the 9th district.

Even after Zemlinsky had left for Prague, he and Schoenberg at first remained close. They maintained a lively correspondence, met in the summer holidays and continued their commitment for new music in the Association for Private Performances in Prague, of which Schoenberg had been appointed honorary president in 1922. Zemlinsky emphatically supported the performance of Schoenberg's works and created opportunities for him to conduct. For his part Schoenberg arranged performances of Zemlinsky's works in Vienna. The two had a difference of opinion when Zemlinsky suggested to his friend an abridged version of Pelleas und Mélisande. In Schoenberg's "absolute" understanding of art a work that had once been completed was untouchable; for the more practically minded Zemlinsky it was a matter of how effective the performance would be.

Mathilde died in 1924. Schoenberg married again only a few months later, a fact that led to a serious upset in his friendship with Zemlinsky. Artistically their paths also separated increasingly: Zemlinsky was very sceptical about Schoenberg's twelve note technique. It was not until they were both in exile in America that the two composers were again able to speak together on a warm and friendly basis. Nevertheless they only met once more when Schoenberg visited Zemlinsky who was already fatally ill in December 1940 in New York.

Image

 

Letter from Zemlinsky to Schoenberg, New York, February 1940. It was the last letter written by the fatally ill Zemlinsky to Schoenberg. As he could no longer write himself, he probably dictated the letter to his wife. At the end of 1939 the couple had decided to move to California as Zemlinsky saw no hope of recovering from his illness in New York. The removal did not come about as Zemlinsky soon suffered a relapse. The opera libretto referred to is Circe based on a text by Irma Stein-Firner and Walter Firner. Zemlinsky was only able to compose a little more than one act of this opera.

Nähe und Entfremdung

Zemlinsky und Schönberg / II


"… es scheint, wir haben keine gemeinsame Zeit."
Schönberg, 1927

1908–11 vollzog Schönberg die entscheidenden Schritte zu einem Komponieren ohne tonales Fundament. Zemlinsky wollte und konnte dieser Entwicklung nicht folgen, stand ihr aber als Künstler und Freund wohlwollend gegenüber: "Vor den letzten Werken Schönbergs stehe ich nicht immer mit gleicher Liebe, aber mit grenzenlosem Respekt." (1912)
In Schönbergs Privatleben ereignete sich um dieselbe Zeit eine schwere Krise, die Zemlinsky indirekt mitbetraf: Nach einer Affäre mit dem Maler Richard Gerstl verließ Mathilde Schönberg kurzzeitig ihren Mann. Als sich die Situation als unlösbar erwies, beging Gerstl Ende 1908 Selbstmord. Zemlinskys Haltung seiner Schwester und seinem Schwager gegenüber ist ungeklärt, doch war dies sicher eine Prüfung für die Freundschaft der beiden Komponisten, die bis 1909 im gleichen Haus in der Liechtensteinstraße (IX. Bezirk) wohnten.

Auch nach Zemlinskys Weggang nach Prag blieben sich Zemlinsky und Schönberg zunächst nahe. Man führte einen regen Briefwechsel, traf sich in den Sommerferien und setzte das Engagement für neue Musik im "Verein für Privataufführungen in Prag" fort, zu dessen Ehrenpräsident Schönberg 1922 ernannt wurde. Zemlinsky setzte sich nachdrücklich für die Aufführung von Schönbergs Werken ein und verschaffte ihm Gelegenheit, zu dirigieren. Umgekehrt initiierte Schönberg Zemlinsky-Aufführungen in Wien. Zu Differenzen kam es, als Zemlinsky dem Freund eine Strichfassung von "Pelleas und Mélisande" vorschlug: In Schönbergs "absolutem" Kunstverständnis war ein einmal vollendetes Werk unantastbar, für den Praktiker Zemlinsky kam es auf die Wirkung in der Aufführung an.

1924 starb Mathilde. Dass Schönberg nur wenige Monate später erneut heiratete, führte zu ernsten Verstimmungen in der Freundschaft. Auch künstlerisch trennten sich die Wege mehr und mehr: Schönbergs Zwölftontechnik stand Zemlinsky sehr skeptisch gegenüber. Erst im amerikanischen Exil fanden die beiden Komponisten wieder einen herzlichen Ton füreinander. Doch kam es nur noch zu einer einzigen Begegnung, als Schönberg den bereits todkranken Zemlinsky im Dezember 1940 in New York besuchte.

 

Image


Brief Zemlinskys an Schönberg, New York, Februar 1940. Der letzte Brief des bereits todkranken Zemlinsky an Schönberg. Da er selbst nicht mehr schreiben konnte, hat er den Brief wahrscheinlich seiner Frau diktiert. Ende 1939 hatte das Paar beschlossen, nach Kalifornien zu übersiedeln, da Zemlinsky sich in New York kaum Erholung von seiner Krankheit versprach. Zu der Übersiedlung kam es nicht mehr, da Zemlinsky bald einen Rückfall erlitt. Bei dem angesprochenen Operntext handelt es sich um "Circe", Libretto nach Irma Stein-Firner und Walter Firner. Zemlinsky konnte nur noch etwas mehr als einen Akt dieser Oper komponieren.